Free Trees from a Bonsai Neighbor!

Yesterday I was out in the back with the family, and one of my backyard neighbors waves me over to chat.  I have lived here for over a year and we have never really spoken.

Well, once or twice I did ask him to shut his dog up.  He has an annoying chihuahua that he lets out at 6:30am and it yaps away and sometimes wakes up our daughter….and me…

So I walk over and say “Hey how’s it going!”

“Do you like bonsai?” He asks as he glances through the fence into my yard.  We have 8 foot wood fences between the yards so it is hard to see over.  But he must have seen my trees.

“Yes, I love trees” I replied.  He tells me to hold on a second and goes back into his yard.  When he returns he is holding 3 trees!

“Here you go” he says.  I told him that was very nice of him but I couldn’t take three trees from him.  He insisted that I have them.

I thanked him very much and told him that I have a few that I will give him as well. Great feeling to discover a fellow Bonsai-er right next door.

The trees are (left to right)

Ficus Retusa (Tiger Bark) root over rock, A Bougainvillea, and a Schefflera.  Here they are:

20170511_190553

They aren’t the greatest trees, but they are not bad and do have potential.  It will be fun,   but there is much work to be done here.  Starting with repotting, and new soil!

Regarding Soil:  He has been growing bonsai here in Florida for 15 years and said that he uses regular dirt and soil from his yard and doesn’t like “bonsai” soil.  He said it is “no good for Florida.”  So these are all planted in regular old dirt.  He also doesn’t use fertilizer at all either.

I happen to disagree with him on soil and fert but I didn’t tell him that.  His way has been working for him….these trees are growing and not declining so I can’t argue there.

I’m not out to change anyone’s ways…I love trees and however you bonsai if it works cheers!!!!!!!

I wrote this post not only to share the story and trees, but to say thank you to my neighbor.  He probably won’t read this but that is okay!

This is a great example of why it is good to know other people in the hobby.  The benefits are endless.  The knowledge, exposure and free trees you will surely come across are wonderful!

There will be updates as the work is done on these trees.  I can’t wait to get started!

One thought on “Free Trees from a Bonsai Neighbor!

Leave a Reply

