Update: Duranta Repens, Erecta (Gold Mound)

Happy Sunday!  So remember that Duranta from this earlier post: The story of a Duranta Repens (Gold Mound) ?

I finally made a decision on how to move forward with this one.  If you remember, I needed (or wanted?) to chop away one of the trunks.  It was just a little odd.

 

Here it is after a the heavy pruning from last post and before the chop:

20170429_174144

 

20170429_174348

My choice was to keep the trunk on the left.  From the angles above it may look like the right trunk is the better choice to keep but after a few weeks of studying the tree and thinking about where/how branches may grow, I chose the left.

At least I have a 50% chance at getting this right haha!!

In seriousness though, I’m not rolling the dice on this.  The right trunk is too straight.  Yes the left one is younger and thinner but will actually show better taper in the end.  It also have MUCH more natural movement and less straight lines.

Duranta’s are notorious for growing at right angles, one very annoying feature about them.

Here is where I’m going to cut, Can you see it?

My choice was to keep the trunk on the left.  From the angles above it may look like the right trunk is the better choice to keep but after a few weeks of studying the tree and thinking about where/how branches may grow, I chose the left.

At least I have a 50% chance at getting this right haha!!

In seriousness though, I’m not rolling the dice on this.  The right trunk is too straight.  Yes the left one is younger and thinner but will actually show better taper in the end.  It also have MUCH more natural movement and less straight lines.

Duranta’s are notorious for growing at right angles, one very annoying feature about them.

Here is where I’m going to cut, Can you see it?

20170429_183749

See the movement and taper!  I like it….hopefully.

And yes I used a Swiss army Knife with a saw blade for this operation.  I haven’t used this knife in a while.  Here was a good reason!  Had it since I was about 12 and the saw is still razor sharp!

Done with cut…this piece that didn’t make it..it was on the wrong side of the saw blade:

20170429_185309

So after the cut here I what we have come to create from a few different angles:

20170429_19194120170429_185444

Literati. Always a great style.

I still haven’t decided on the final front of this tree yet, but that is ok.  I have a while before it’ll come out of this larger planter.  It needs to thicken up, set those branches and really grow a nice root spread.

Well, hope you enjoyed the update, peace!

One thought on “Update: Duranta Repens, Erecta (Gold Mound)

Leave a Reply

