Another Nursery Trip for Pre-Bonsai Stock: Parson’s Juniper

Today I had off and figured I would go to the nursery and see if I can find something new to work on.

I ended up going to Florida  Nursery Mart.  They don’t have the biggest selection of material that works for bonsai, but sometimes I find good trees.

I didn’t have anything specific in mind today, although I was hoping to find a good slash pine.  Don’t have one of those yet and it would be nice.

Today though the pickings were slimmer than usual.  I ended up choosing a Parson’s Juniper that provided a ton of material to work with.  They had some nice Ilex there.  But in the end I was partial to the Juniper.  But even with Juniper there weren’t too many.

They had variegated parson’s which has yellow and green foliage.  Not very good for bonsai. They also had some Parson’s and Blue Rug in stock as well.

20170419_110247

There were 2 or 3 that I liked and spent some time pondering which to get.  I ended up purchasing this one:

20170419_110307

You can’t see from this picture but after doing some poking around in the pot, I saw it had a nice trunk that wasn’t too small.  It also has 3 great well developed branches to work with.

So what am I going to do to this thing?  I haven’t decided yet.  I like to take a little time with my trees.  Especially since I’m so busy, it might sit in this pot for a week or two before I do anything. It may even sit for a lot longer before it gets pruned/wired.

What I do know is that I’m going to take some cuttings for sure.  I’m planning on only keeping one maybe 2 of the main branches.  This could change because I still have to take a closer look.

This is another picture of it back at the house:

20170419_115718

Can’t wait to work on it!

Leave a Reply

